OUM graduates honored in Melbourne ceremony

The newest graduating class of Oceania University of Medicine celebrates by tossing their caps following their graduation ceremony in Melbourne.

Fifteen new graduates joined Oceania University of Medicine’s 122 total graduates at a ceremony in Melbourne, Australia, on Saturday, 7 March.

Vice Chancellor Dr. Viali Lameko traveled from Samoa to lead the festivities where three students won the Dean’s Medal for Academic Excellence, recognizing exceptional performance in medical school coursework. Congratulations to Dean’s Medal recipients Julian Lai, MD, Adefunke “Liz” Nnadigwe, MD, and Peyman Zarkandi, MD.

Also in attendance were OUM Chairman and Founder Taffy Gould, Deputy Vice Chancellor Dr. Randell Brown, Dean for Australia Dr. Meshach Kirubakaran, Dean for Asia-Pacific Dr. C.S. Benjamin, Director of Faculty Affairs Dr. Paula Diamante, as well as family members, faculty, and students from the region.

The thirteen Australian graduates were Dr. Adefunke Nnadigwe, Dr. Colin Marriott, Dr. Daliya Sari, Dr. Duc Nguyen, Dr. Esther Oluyide, Dr. Julian Lai, Dr. Kevin Reid, Dr. Matthew Stewart, brothers Dr. Mikaiel Yosouf Mohmand and Dr. Mohamad Yosouf Mohmand, and Dr. Tri Ngo. Dr. Nina Neghabian and Dr. Peyman Zarkandi were not present and received their degrees in absentia.

Representing New Zealand, Dr. Noor Al-Rawe received her MD degree, and representing South Africa, Dr. Martin Stonehouse received his MD degree.

Speaking to a hall full of family, friends, faculty, and students, each graduate expressed thanks to Mrs. Gould for her forethought in founding OUM, to Joe Korac for his support throughout their time as OUM students, and to their Academic Advisors.

OUM currently has 239 students from 10 countries and 122 graduates undergoing post-graduate training or practicing medicine in six countries. Seven OUM graduates are practicing medicine at Tupua Tamasese Meaole Hospital (TTM), the University’s primary teaching facility located in Apia, Samoa.