Accreditation is an important quality indicator which validates the quality of an institution’s educational programs. It also provides the requisite credentials which graduates of foreign medical schools need to practice in many countries.

OUM was first accredited in 2010 by the Philippine Accrediting Association for Schools, Colleges and Universities (PAASCU), which at the time was one of the 21 medical school accrediting bodies worldwide deemed by the US Department of Education’s National Committee for Foreign Medical Education Accreditation as having standards equivalent to those of the US. In 2015, OUM underwent PAASCU’s rigorous re-accreditation, was awarded level-two status, and today is accredited through 2025.

PAASCU is currently applying for recognition from the World Federation of Medical Education (WFME). Beginning in 2024, graduates of international medical schools who plan to practice in the United States must have earned their degree from a medical school whose accrediting body is recognized by WFME. OUM is confident that PAASCU will have met WFME’s recognition requirements well before the 2024 deadline.

In addition to being internationally accredited, OUM is recognized by the following entities:

  • Australian Medical Council (AMC)

  • Education Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG)
  • Medical Council of New Zealand (MCNZ)
  • World Directory of Medical Schools

Being recognized by these organizations is a prerequisite in many countries, including Australia, New Zealand, and the United States, for international medical school graduates applying for licensure.

OUM graduates planning to practice medicine in Australia are eligible to sit the AMC licensing exams, and graduates planning to practice in New Zealand are eligible to sit for the New Zealand Registration Exam (NZREX).

In the US, in addition to passing the United States Medical Licensing Exam (USMLE), students of foreign medical schools must obtain ECFMG certification in order to begin a residency program at a US hospital.

OUM graduates are eligible to obtain ECFMG certification. For more information, visit:

Oceania University of Medicine Logo